"COVID-19 Info No.14"

COVID-19 Info No.14

Category: COVID-19 EXTRA

Published: (Thu) 12 Nov 2020

With effect of 1 November 2020, Japan has removed 8 countries (including Australia, Korea and Thailand) from the list of countries subject to an entry ban, and added 2 further countries (Jordan, Myanmar) to the list. All European countries, including Germany, are still subject to the entry ban. Foreigners who have stayed in one of the 152 countries on the list within 14 days prior to their arrival in Japan are principally refused entry, unless there are special circumstances under which an entry to Japan can be permitted.

https://www.mofa.go.jp/ca/fna/page4e_001053.html (English)

The Immigration Services Agency of Japan has published on its website information regarding the details of said special circumstances, which include for example:

– The grant of a short-term business trip visa by a Japanese consulate or embassy in the country on the list, based on an invitation from a company in Japan and the submission of a pledge regarding infection prevention measures by the inviting organization (newly added as of 1 November 2020).
– Foreigners with a resident status holding a reentry permit, and family members of Japanese nationals or of foreigners with a permanent resident status.

http://www.moj.go.jp/content/001326711.pdf (Japanese)

All foreigners who have stayed in a country on the list in the 14 days preceding their entry to Japan are required to submit a negative COVID-19 test certificate acquired within 72 hours before arrival, undergo a second COVID-19 test upon arrival, and observe a 14 days’ quarantine after entry to Japan. Failure to submit the test certificate principally results in a refusal of entry to Japan.

http://www.moj.go.jp/content/001332180.pdf (Japanese)

You may also like…